Welcome

21 December 2018 Issue 254

7-13 Travel retail highlights

Lotte’s marathon live broadcast, DFS Group’s acclaimed Masters of Time exhibition, and Changi Airport Group’s wizarding wonderland feature in our regular look at the industry’s best new launches, activations and openings.

15-20 2018 in review

We present our review of 2018, featuring the leading stories, openings, key campaigns and events across the travel retail world in words, images and video.

21-25 Special report: Wellbeing

As wellbeing services become increasingly sought after by travellers, so airports are adapting, with the growth in airport spas and wellness centres a direct response. What is driving demand for these services and what do customers really want from wellness spaces?

26 Sense of Place

L’Oréal Travel Retail’s third annual Kiehl’s Loves campaign combined elements such as digital innovation and destination-specific packaging and products to create Sense of Place at locations around the world.

27 Airports as Artports

Travellers are the painters in HMSHost’s innovative take on art at the airport, which seeks to reduce stress and offer an unusual experience during the Christmas travel season.

29 Duty Calls

Edrington’s EPIC cycling journey across Vietnam raised US$750,000 for charities in the country.

30 The Front Line

Described as a person of great heart, Dufry Duty Free Uruguay’s Ana Maria Ascarate calls the store environment her “happy place”.

31 The Front Line Heroes

We salute the Front Line heroes who featured in our regular column during 2018.

33 Stock Watch

In the last Stock Watch column of 2018, we reveal the best and worst performers of the year among the travel retail-related companies we track on the stock market.

35-41 The Foodie Report

BCV Architecture + Interior Co-Founding Principal Chris von Eckartsberg discusses the importance of authenticity and Sense of Place in redefining airport food & beverage experiences for the modern traveller.

In Food & Beverage Highlights, we explore how a ‘taste of place’ has been created at Los Angeles International Airport and assess Lagardère’s latest acquisition.

The Moodie Davitt e-Zine is published by Moodie International Ltd. It is produced 24 times a year, free of charge.

©All material is copyright and cannot be reproduced without the permission of the Publisher.

To subscribe please e-mail Sinead@MoodieDavittReport.com

Editor

Jason Holland

Jason@MoodieDavittReport.com

Design and production

Ray Heath

Declan Moodie

Contributors

Hannah Lewis

Colleen Morgan

Kevin Rozario

Vice President Sales & Events

Sarah Genest

Sarah@MoodieDavittReport.com

Advertisement Director

Claire Wates

Claire@MoodieDavittReport.com

Publisher and Head of Sales

Irene Revilla

Irene@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Technology Officer

Matt Willey

Matt@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Administrative Officer

Victoria Bowskill

Victoria@MoodieDavittReport.com

President & Editorial Director

Dermot Davitt

Dermot@MoodieDavittReport.com

Founder & Chairman

Martin Moodie

Martin@MoodieDavittReport.com

www.MoodieDavittReport.com


The Moodie Davitt e-Zine | Issue 254 | 21 December 2018