Welcome

3 December 2018 Issue 253

7-16 Travel retail highlights

A rock and roll tequila, a supermarket-themed activation, and a transatlantic voyage of discovery feature in our regular look at the industry’s best new launches, activations and openings.

18 Journey of discovery

We are on location in Qatar for the world-exclusive launch of a Dior Les Parfums Podium at Hamad International Airport – an ambitious four-way collaboration between Parfums Christian Dior, Qatar Airways, Qatar Duty Free and the airport.

19 François Demachy interview

Dior’s legendary in-house Perfumer and Creator discusses his approach to perfume creation.

20 Akbar Al Baker interview

Pulling no punches during a compelling interview, the Qatar Airways Group Chief Executive explains why the blockade against Qatar has been a blessing in disguise and why Qatar Duty Free offers customers “a totally different experience”.

21 The Trinity Forum 2019

The world's most influential airport commercial revenues conference comes to Qatar for the first time, with Hamad International Airport, Qatar Airways and Qatar Duty Free as the hosts.

24 Special report: Airport foreign exchange

Despite claims of poor value for money and a future where cash is no longer required, specialists in the airport foreign exchange sector insist the business remains viable and can thrive, with a focus on innovative, multi-channel services.

25 Fairway to heaven

The Dubai Duty Free Golf World Cup is the social event of the year in travel retail. We present pictorial highlights.

27 Sense of Place

The redeveloped Shannon Duty Free store takes inspiration from the west of Ireland, and from the industry’s founding father, Dr. Brendan O’Regan.

29 Airports as Artports

Cupid is causing mischief at Brussels Airport in an innovative augmented reality art installation that aims to showcase local culture and give passengers a memorable experience.

31 Duty Calls

World Duty Free has raised over US$2.56 million for charity The One Foundation during a fruitful and long-standing partnership.

32 Stock Watch

The Shilla Duty Free parent Hotel Shilla was the top performer this time. Shares in SSP Group, which reported a +9.5% revenue increase at constant currency for the year ended 30 September, fell -12.1%.

The Moodie Davitt e-Zine is published by Moodie International Ltd. It is produced 24 times a year, free of charge.

©All material is copyright and cannot be reproduced without the permission of the Publisher.

To subscribe please e-mail Sinead@MoodieDavittReport.com

Editor

Jason Holland

Jason@MoodieDavittReport.com

Design and production

Ray Heath

Declan Moodie

Contributors

Hannah Lewis

Colleen Morgan

Kevin Rozario

Vice President Sales & Events

Sarah Genest

Sarah@MoodieDavittReport.com

Advertisement Director

Claire Wates

Claire@MoodieDavittReport.com

Publisher and Head of Sales

Irene Revilla

Irene@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Technology Officer

Matt Willey

Matt@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Administrative Officer

Victoria Bowskill

Victoria@MoodieDavittReport.com

President & Editorial Director

Dermot Davitt

Dermot@MoodieDavittReport.com

Founder & Chairman

Martin Moodie

Martin@MoodieDavittReport.com

www.MoodieDavittReport.com


The Moodie Davitt e-Zine | Issue 253 | 3 December 2018