Welcome

24 September 2018 Issue 247

5-17 Travel retail highlights

An exclusive single malt Scotch whisky release; a fascinating foodie fusion of retail and dining; and a speciality natural fibre garment store feature in our look at the industry’s best new launches, activations and openings.

19 Smoke-free duty free?

Philip Morris International is rewriting the rules of tobacco engagement as it bids to get smokers to switch to ‘reduced risk products’. Martin Moodie discovers that the HEET is on.

21-34 A New Generation

Dufry last week unveiled its fifth 'New Generation Store' through World Duty Free at Heathrow Airport Terminal 3. It majors on digital; is strong on beauty, malt whisky, gin and sunglasses; and is more mundane on confectionery, watches and jewellery.

35 Airports as Artports

Hartsfield–Jackson Atlanta International Airport’s wide-ranging art programme is all about making connections – which is an appropriate goal for the world’s busiest airport.

37 Sense of Place

With its new retail offer at Poland’s Wroclaw Airport, Baltona Duty Free has concentrated on championing local products and forging close partnerships with their manufacturers.

39 Stock Watch

Shares in The Shilla Duty Free parent Hotel Shilla surged +9.6% while Lagardère Group and Japan Airport Terminal Co also performed well.

40 The Front Line

“It’s a beautiful thing when career and passion come together,” says Dubai Duty Free Gucci beauty advisor and exceptional team player Than Htike Moe.

The Moodie Davitt e-Zine is published by Moodie International Ltd. It is produced 24 times a year, free of charge.

©All material is copyright and cannot be reproduced without the permission of the Publisher.

To subscribe please e-mail Sinead@MoodieDavittReport.com

Editor

Jason Holland

Jason@MoodieDavittReport.com

Design and production

Ray Heath

Declan Moodie

Contributors

Hannah Lewis

Colleen Morgan

Kevin Rozario

Mark Lane

Vice President Sales & Events

Sarah Genest

Sarah@MoodieDavittReport.com

Advertisement Director

Claire Wates

Claire@MoodieDavittReport.com

Publisher

Irene Revilla

Irene@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Technology Officer

Matt Willey

Matt@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Administrative Officer

Victoria Bowskill

Victoria@MoodieDavittReport.com

President & Editorial Director

Dermot Davitt

Dermot@MoodieDavittReport.com

Founder & Chairman

Martin Moodie

Martin@MoodieDavittReport.com

www.MoodieDavittReport.com


The Moodie Davitt e-Zine | Issue 247 | 24 September 2018