Welcome

14 September 2018 Issue 246

5-17 Travel retail highlights

A landmark contract signing, a spectacular short film, and a charming ‘Travelling Townhouse’ feature in our regular look at the industry’s best new launches, activations and openings.

18 Fashion to the fore

DFS Group called on nine New Zealand-based fashion designers to help it mark the official opening of its newly renovated T Galleria by DFS, Auckland. The store brings together brands from key categories with the aim of surprising and delighting customers.

20-33 Craft spirits special report

There has been a huge and sustained rise in the popularity of craft spirits around the world. We present a spread of brand and retailer opinions on their emergence, development and future in travel retail.

34 Sense of Place

Malaysian culture is being showcased in Kuala Lumpur International Airport’s latest campaign, alongside a host of local brands. Can it strike the right balance between commercial and experience?

35 Stock Watch

Shares in Hudson Group surged +17.4% but the story was not the same for the majority of the other travel retail-related companies we follow.

37 The Front Line

No single day is the same for Dubai Duty Free’s Claudette Sta. Ana, who sees every customer encounter as a new experience.

39-44

Pink Fish is a Norwegian fast casual restaurant chain that is aiming to spawn a “modern food hero” across the rest of the world – salmon. The first airport opening will take place in early 2019, and many more could be set to follow.

In Food & Beverage highlights, a foodie festival in Malaysia and a rock ‘n’ roll restaurant opening are in the spotlight.

The Moodie Davitt e-Zine is published by Moodie International Ltd. It is produced 24 times a year, free of charge.

©All material is copyright and cannot be reproduced without the permission of the Publisher.

To subscribe please e-mail Sinead@MoodieDavittReport.com

Editor

Jason Holland

Jason@MoodieDavittReport.com

Design and production

Ray Heath

Declan Moodie

Contributors

Hannah Lewis

Colleen Morgan

Kevin Rozario

Mark Lane

Publisher

Irene Revilla

Irene@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Creative Officer

Matt Willey

Matt@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Administrative Officer

Victoria Bowskill

Victoria@MoodieDavittReport.com

President & Editorial Director

Dermot Davitt

Dermot@MoodieDavittReport.com

Founder & Chairman

Martin Moodie

Martin@MoodieDavittReport.com

www.MoodieDavittReport.com


The Moodie Davitt e-Zine | Issue 246 | 14 September 2018