Welcome

30 October 2018 Issue 250

8 Milestone moment

The Moodie Davitt e-Zine this week celebrates its 250th issue. We look back on key moments and covers in the transformative publication’s history.

10-22 Travel retail highlights

An immersive, multi-mirrored room in Paris, a new retailing benchmark in the Philippines, and a spectacular shopping festival in Mumbai feature in our regular look at the industry’s best new launches, activations and openings.

24 The power of two

Lifestyle label Rituals and airline KLM, two Dutch companies with a global outlook, have come together to create an inflight-exclusive range of cosmetics.

26-32 Coming full circle

In this special report on DFASS Group rebranding to become 3Sixty, we interview founding entrepreneur Benny Klepach as well as transformation men Roberto Graziani and Kian Gould. We also present highlights from a memorable launch night in Miami.

34-36 The Trinity Forum

We preview this week’s Trinity Forum, the world’s leading airport commercial revenues conference, which takes place in Shanghai.

38 Positioning for a new world

On the eve of The Trinity Forum, Lagardère Travel Retail’s Dag Rasmussen and Ambroise Fondeur talk acquisitions, expansion, the Chinese opportunity and crucially, how new traveller dynamics are reshaping the world of travel retail.

40-41 Smoke-free future

Philip Morris International has continued its smoke-free revolution with the launch of its ‘next-generation’ IQOS products in Tokyo.

42 Duty Calls

The Moodie Davitt Report has nominated Asia Pacific charity Friends International as its beneficiary for The Moodie Davitt Report ‘Duty Calls’ Charity Dinner and other fundraising activities planned throughout 2019.

44 Airports as Artports

A new exhibition at Paris Charles de Gaulle’s dedicated art museum celebrates the unusual life of one of the “main figures and witnesses” of 20th century art history – Dina Vierny.

46 Sense of Place

Passengers arriving at Bali Ngurah Rai International Airport for a global economic and financial meeting earlier this month were treated to a stunning showcase of Indonesian culture.

48 Positive Disruptors and Innovators

How can we digitalise travel retail? Anonymous industry expert and guest writer The Wren shares some insights.

49 Stock Watch

Shares in three of the Asian companies we monitor – Hotel Shilla, Japan Airport Terminal Co and China International Travel Service – fell amid a worrying general slump on stock markets in the region.

The Moodie Davitt e-Zine is published by Moodie International Ltd. It is produced 24 times a year, free of charge.

©All material is copyright and cannot be reproduced without the permission of the Publisher.

To subscribe please e-mail Sinead@MoodieDavittReport.com

Editor

Jason Holland

Jason@MoodieDavittReport.com

Design and production

Ray Heath

Declan Moodie

Contributors

Hannah Lewis

Colleen Morgan

Kevin Rozario

Melody Ng

Vice President Sales & Events

Sarah Genest

Sarah@MoodieDavittReport.com

Advertisement Director

Claire Wates

Claire@MoodieDavittReport.com

Publisher and Head of Sales

Irene Revilla

Irene@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Technology Officer

Matt Willey

Matt@MoodieDavittReport.com

Chief Administrative Officer

Victoria Bowskill

Victoria@MoodieDavittReport.com

President & Editorial Director

Dermot Davitt

Dermot@MoodieDavittReport.com

Founder & Chairman

Martin Moodie

Martin@MoodieDavittReport.com

www.MoodieDavittReport.com

Advertisement


The Moodie Davitt e-Zine | Issue 250 | 30 October 2018